Realtors Usher in New Leaders

More than 150 members of the Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors gathered Jan. 17 at the Sea Pines Country Club on Hilton Head Island for their annual installation and awards event.

“This is the start of a new year. You know me, I want everyone to have a great year and be a part of our association,” said Cindy Creamer of Lighthouse Realty, the newly installed 2018 president of the board of directors.

In addition to installing its 2018 board of directors and officers, the association’s 2017 president, Daniel Moskowitz of Dunes Real Estate, presented awards for the 2017 Realtor of the Year and the winner of the 2017 President’s Cup.


Michael Gonzalez of ERA Evergreen Real Estate was named 2017 Realtor of the Year.

Gonzalez has taught professional development sessions for Realtors on topics such as technology, going paperless, and working with millennials. He also led the charge and launched the Realtor’s Young Professional Network, which has had nine educational events, collected school supplies, and toys for children during the holiday.

“Michael can always be counted on,” Moskowitz said.

Gonzalez also is an advocate for homeownership and property rights, and has attended legislative meetings at the state and federal levels. He served as president of the board of directors in 2016 and serves as Region 2 vice president for the South Carolina Realtors, and is on the Strategic Thinking Advisory Committee with the National Association of Realtors.


The 2017 President’s Cup went to ERA Evergreen Real Estate Company. The company’s agents are active participants in the association, holding various committee positions and attending many education and networking events. ERA Evergreen agents also lead the Jasper Realtors Meet Up Group.


Town of Bluffton Mayor Lisa Sulka officiated the installation ceremony and oath of office for the Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors’ 2018 board of directors and officers.

“This is my favorite line of this installation,” Sulka said as she addressed the new board. “Your reward will be great — a new secret of living — that comes only to those who practice the art of giving.”

The 2018 officers include: Cindy Creamer of Lighthouse Realty, president; Brian Kinard of Lighthouse Realty, president-elect; Heather Baker of ERA Evergreen Real Estate, vice president; Shaun McTernan of The Alliance Group Realty, secretary/treasurer; Daniel Moskowitz of Dunes Real Estate, immediate past president.

Also serving on the board are: Becky Herman of Charter One Realty; Kate Yachini of Carolina Realty Group; Kathy Schroeder of Dunes Real Estate; Karen Ryan of Weichert, Realtors-Coastal Properties; Dino DiNenna of Southern Lifestyles Properties; Susan Ochsner of Sea Pines Real Estate Beach Club; Lisa Fleming of Charter One Realty; Suzanna Rose McDonald of Premier Island Properties; and Carolyn Sonberg of Keller Williams Realty.

Jean Beck is executive vice president of the Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors.

71 Lighthouse Road, Suite 216
Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone: 843-671-5551

Our Office Location